Photography jobs

Sony Global Photography Awards | ArtsHub Australia

The awards provide an unparalleled opportunity for exposure for photographers at all stages of their careers and are known worldwide by industry leaders. The images are judged by the World Photography Organization and a specially selected jury by the World Photographic Academy, made up of the most esteemed people in the photographic industry.

The Sony World Photography Awards consist of five competitions:

  • Professional – 15 categories, judged on a series of images
  • Open – 10 categories, judged on a single image, open to everyone
  • Youth – 3 categories, for photographers aged 12 to 19
  • Student Focus – for those studying photography

Additionally, it runs the National Awards program in 47 countries, seeking to find the best single shot taken by a photographer from that country.
The awards offer categories in all genres of photojournalism, fine art, and commercial photography, and the author of the image retains full copyright ownership over each entry.


Professional, amateur, young and student photographers from all over the world are invited to present their best work.


The awards have brought untold rewards and recognition to those involved and provide an incredible cash prize of $30,000 each year as well as the latest Sony digital imaging equipment.

The annual awards gala and ceremony take place in London, welcoming an international presence of industry leaders to celebrate the recognition of the best in contemporary photography and each year also pays tribute to one of our masters with the Outstanding Contribution to Photography Award. The celebration is supported by an exhibition of the winners and the shortlist, featuring hundreds of carefully curated photographs inside London’s historic landmark, Somerset House.

For more information, visit the World Photography Organization